Ink Review: Pelikan Edelstein Mandarin

Image

Paper: Rhodia 80g

Pen: Lamy Safari M

There was a lot of hype surrounding the Edelstein line of inks when they were first released. However, I have been quite disappointed by this ink. Edelstein means ‘gemstone’ in German and I was expecting a bright pop of colour. However, this is a very soft ink, not dissimilar to a more subdued Rhodia Orange.

One of advantage of the lack of saturation is the shading. This is a dramatically shading ink, ranging from a pale orange to a dark pumpkin colour. This is would probably be brilliant in a flex pen. This is a very dry ink and there is no feathering or bleedthrough on Rhodia paper nor copy paper. I am generally not a fan of dry inks. so I need to use this in a wet pen to get a moderate flow.

Image

 

This is not a waterproof ink. It has a relatively quick dry time of around 3 seconds on Rhodia paper. I think it would dry pretty much instantly on more absorbent paper – which makes it a good ink for left handers. There have been no start up problems with this ink.

Something brilliant about this ink is the bottle. It’s a very elegant bottle filled with amber honey coloured ink. I’d definitely show off this bottle.

Image

 

Colour: 7/10

Flow: 6/10

Saturation: 4/10

Bleeding or feathering: None

Shading: 10/10

Overall rating: 6/10

3 comments

  1. Oh hey! I found your blog through The Inked Nib! I’m so excited to see more posts from you :D I personally love this ink, and it DOES look amazing in a flex pen! I should post some pics of it myself so others can see. Anyway, best wishes on your future posts, I’m now following your blog :)

    1. Thank you! If you have a blog, let me know!

  2. I found your blog through FPGeeks! Looks like you have the beginnings of an informative and fun blog. I too share your love of all things stationery and I feel lucky to live within a few miles of a couple of really nice stationery stores. I followed you and am looking forward to seeing more posts of yours in the future.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

